Teocuitlatl in 14 Lines

The five time-bound suns
They breathe life and bring death
As the bearded gods go down and leave
And we never knew them the way the ancient ones do

But the one thing left between the wars of gods and men
Is that four-letter word we can’t quite get

Lest we allow ourselves the pain of being conquered
And showing the ones who seek El Dorado who we are and what we can forge
After the deluge and nuclear wars
And creation myths and the end of days

The way I was when my conquistador found my city
And I gave him my pulsating heart, my own human sacrifice
And I gave him the tears and excretion of the deities
My riches, amor, spes and fides.

(c) 2012
Vivien Marie Lopez


Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Detection Tool

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Author’s note:
Teocuitlatl – noun – Classic Nahuatl – “excrement of the gods,” gold.
Tecuitlatl – noun – “stone dung,” a dietary supplement/food.

The author got confused at first, but what she meant was really, Teocuitlatl. The interwebs suggested otherwise, but you know how information gets twisted in the wwww.

Thank you very much.🙂

Go. Moan. Scream. Tell me if you like it. Make some noise.

