Be brave, I beg
As I am.
Don’t be a coward
and choose the easy way out
For I am as afraid
As you are of me.

(Aphrodite has a way of blessing lovers with pain)

You lie, I know
As you do
When the leaves sway
Against the wind that brushes us
As you try to mask
Love with war

(they are the same, my dear)

For we know, that
To leave is
To break ourselves
And lose what little faith left
We have for the world
We give that much

(So we fear that much
phobia and philia are brothers)

But I stay, my King
To fight for
To live for this
For this marriage don’t trace signed papers
But the truth we find
In each stroke of luck

(not worthy of this absurd conflict)

Stay with me, I pray
For I know
The shape of your mouth
It betrays your ideal hardcore facade
Despite your insistence
That you want something else other than this

(I know you that well, my dear)

I will live today
I’ll get you
From demons the mind makes
This is and this isn’t both who you are
Come back to me, my love
Be brave, I beg.

(I am here until Death takes me)

(c) 2012
Vivien Marie Lopez

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Detection Tool

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

4 thoughts on “Cleopatra’s Asp

Go. Moan. Scream. Tell me if you like it. Make some noise.

